Nairobi News

SportsWhat's Hot

Wanyama dropped from shortlist of CAF top award award

Harambee Stars captain Victor Wanyama has been dropped from contention for this year’s CAF African Player of the Year award.

Wanyama had last month been included in the initial 37 man list of players in the running for the top prize. He was however left out of the ten – man shortlist released by the Confederation of African Football on Monday evening.

Wanyama’s teammate at club level Saido Mane has remained in shortlist, that consists of seven West Africans, two North Africans and a Sudanese national.

Others still in contention are Manchester City’s Ivorian midfielder Yaya Toure, who won the award last year, Ghanian sensational forward Andre Ayew, who plays for Swansea, and coming Gabon and Borrussia Dortmund striker Pierre Emerick Aubamayang.

The trio are considered favourites for this award.

In a related development, PSL based Guinean keeper Felipe Ovono, TP Mazembe’s Ivorian Roger Assale and Tanzanian forward Mbwana Aly Sammatta remain in the running to claim the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) award for 2015.

Full list of nominees:

CAF Africa Player of the year (2015)

  • André Ayew (Ghana & Swansea)
  • Aymen Abdennour (Tunisia & Valencia)
  • Mudather Eltaib Ibrahim ‘Karika’ (Sudan & El Hilal)
  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Roma)
  • Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund)
  • Sadio Mané (Senegal & Southampton)
  • Serge Aurier (Cote d’Ivoire & Paris Saint Germain)
  • Sofiane Feghouli (Algeria & Valencia)
  • Yacine Brahimi ( Algeria & Porto)
  • Yaya Touré (Cote d’Ivoire & Manchester City)

Africa Player of the year (2015) – based in Africa.

  • Abdeladim Khadrouf (Morocco & Moghreb Tetouan)
  • Baghdad Bounedjah ( Algeria & Etoile du Sahel)
  • Felipe Ovono (Equatorial Guinea & Orlando Pirates)
  • Kermit Erasmus (South Africa & Orlando Pirates)
  • Mbwana Aly Samatta (Tanzania & TP Mazembe)
  • Mohamed Meftah ( Algeria & USM Alger)
  • Mudather Eltaib Ibrahim ‘Karika’ (Sudan & El Hilal)
  • Robert Kidiaba Muteba ( DR Congo & TP Mazembe)
  • Roger Assalé (Cote d’Ivoire & TP Mazembe)
  • Zineddine Ferhat (Algeria & USM Alger)