Nairobi News

NewsWhat's Hot

Uhuru sacks 13 Cabinet Secretaries as Tobiko lands plum position

President Uhuru Kenyatta has announced he will retain six Cabinet Secretaries in his new look cabinet.

The retained CSs are Henry Rotich (Treasury), Najib Balala (Tourism), James Macharia (Transport), Fred Matiang’i (Interior and acting Education), Charles Keter (Energy) and Joe Mucheru (ICT).

“Therefore, in accordance with the powers conferred upon me by Article 131 and 152 of our Constitution of Kenya 2010, I wish to state that I am retaining the following persons in my cabinet and shall reassign them accordingly their duties in accordance with article 152 (v (a)),” said Mr Kenyatta.

The appointments, announced by the Head of State in a live address at State House Nairobi Friday afternoon, in effect means the other 13 Cabinet Secretaries have been shown the door a the president shapes his new cabinet.

Joseph Kinyua has been retained as Head of Public Service deputized by Wanyama Musyambo, while his hitherto deputy Nzioka Waita will serve as the chief of staff and head of the Presidential Delivery Unit.

Former Nakuru Governor Kinuthia Mbugua has been appointed State House Comptroller.


Lawrence Lenayapa, who has been Kenyatta’s State House Comptroller, is expected to become the next Kenyan Ambassador to Netherlands.

The surprise in the president’s picks to fill cabinet slots is Director of Public Prosecutions Keriako Tobiko, who has already submitted his resignation to State House in readiness for a cabinet appointment.

Former Marsabit Governor Ukur Yatani and former Turkana Senator John Munyes are also headed for Uhuru’s new cabinet.

President Kenyatta said their names have already been submitted to the Speaker of the National Assembly Justin Muturi for consideration by MPs.

The fresh State House picks have also seen Directorate of Criminal Investigations boss Ndegwa Muhoro, and Deputy Inspectors General Joel Kitili and Samuel Arachi ejected from the National Police Service and will be replaced in acting capacity by George Kinoti, Njoroge Mbugua and Noor Gabao respectively.