Nairobi News

NewsWhat's Hot

Three IEBC commissioners resign after fallout with Chebukati

Three electoral commissioners have tendered their resignation citing a lack of faith in the leadership of chairman Wafula Chebukati.

The three are IEBC vice chair Connie Nkatha Maina, commissioners Margaret Mwachanya and Dr Paul Kurgat.

The resignations take effect immediately.

“The chairman has in several instances failed to be rye steady and stable hand to steer the commission ship,” Ms Mwachanya said  in a joint statement.

“This race to chase ghosts that do not exist must stop. We must banish the external players from the commission boardroom and regain the independence of the commission,” they said.

More to follow…