Here’s WhatsApp’s solution to ‘Bro Ocholla’ messages
WhatsApp users who often send messages to wrong groups or individuals will soon have nothing to worry about; WhatsApp will soon save you from the embarrassment of those ‘Bro Ocholla’ moments.
The Facebook-owned messaging app is rolling out a feature that will finally let its 1 billion-plus users delete a message for all people within a conversation.
Right now, the app’s delete feature is fairly useless as it only removes a message for the person who sent it. This means that a ‘wrong’ message can still be shared by those whom it wasn’t meant for.
The new update will give the option to “delete for everyone,” which rids it from the chat for all. Instead, they will see a notification explaining the message has been removed.
Deleting messages for everyone will allows senders to delete specific messages they have sent to either a group or an individual chat.
This is particularly useful if a message has been sent to the wrong chat or if the message sent contains a mistake.
Messages successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats (*).
Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.
But users will only be be able can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending. Once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone.
Perhaps the most famous message sent to the wrong group was one by a certain Bro Ocholla who in October 2015 became an online sensation for his his toe-curling, sexually explicit message on a supposedly Christian prayer group.
The screenshot of the randy message was widely shared on social media before the said Bro Ocholla came out days later to explain that the flirtatious message was meant for his wife.