Nairobi News

NewsWhat's Hot

Nairobi county to get more devolution cash

Nairobi County will for the second year running receive the lion’s share of the proposed Sh242.4 billion set aside for devolved units in the 2014/15 financial year.

According to the draft County Allocation of Revenue Bill 2014, Nairobi will get Sh13.04 billion, up from the Sh10 billion it got the previous year.

This amount comprises Sh11.07 billion of the equitable share and another Sh2 billion as conditional share allocations for rural electrification, loans and grants from the National Treasury and development partners.

Turkana County comes in second with a total allocation of Sh9.3 billion, followed by the densely populated Kakamega County which will receive Sh8.8 billion.

Mandera County in the former North Eastern province seals the top five positions with Sh8 billion for the 2014/15 financial year, up from Sh6.8 billion in the last year.

All 47 counties have recorded an increase in revenue allocation from the National Treasury.

Even Lamu County, which will be receiving the lowest allocation, is likely to get Sh1.9 billion, up from Sh1.6 billion the previous year.

The Treasury, in the draft County Allocation of Revenue and Division of Revenue Bills, has proposed an increase of Sh32 billion that will go to the counties, bringing the total to Sh242.4 billion from Sh212 billion allocated last year.