Nairobi News


Kenyans miss out on AMVCA awards as Nigeria dominate

Kenyans missed out on all the categories they were nominated at the 2017 Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards (AMVCA) on Saturday night in Lagos, Nigeria.

Nigerian finalists were the big winners of the night as they scooped the lion’s share in most of the categories.

Two Kenyan movies, Kati Kati and Mganga Bomba, failed to win any award same as spoken word artiste and actor, Elsaphan Njora, who had been nominated for best supporting actor in Kati Kati.


Dorothy Ghettuba, Victor Gatonye and Daudi Otieno were also nominated for best indigenous language movie or TV series – Swahili in Urembo, Fihi and Zilizala respectively.

The movie, ’76, directed by Izu Ojukwu, emerged the biggest winner at this year’s awards.

Actress Funke Akindele also won two awards, while the Trailblazer Award went to Somkele Iyamah-Idhalama while Chika Okpala aka Chief Zebrudaya took home the Industry Merit Award.

’76 stole the show, winning Best Movie, Best Actress, Best Costume Designer, Best Art Director and Best Director.

Here is the full list of the winners:

Best Lighting Designer – Elliot Sewape – 93 Days

Best Cinematographer – Lance Gewer – Happiness Is A Four Letter Word

Best Short Film/Online Video – Ogo Okpue – Cat Face

Best Documentary – Uga Carlini – Alison

AMVCA Recognition Award for the best MNet seriesHustle

Best Actor in a Comedy Series – Samuel Ajibola – The Johnsons

Best Actor in MNet Drama Series – David Jones David – Hotel Majestic

Best Comedy SeriesThe Johnsons

Best MNet Drama SeriesTinsel

Best Indigenous Language Movie (Swahili)Zilizala

Best Indigenous Language (Hausa) – Tijani Shehu Yahaya – Yaki Da Zuciya

Best Indigenous Language Movie (Yoruba) – Abiodun Jimoh and Jumoke Odetola – Somewhere In The Dark

Best Indigenous Language Movie/Series (Igbo) – Crey Ahanonu – Amonye Bu Onye

Best Soundtrack (Original Score) – Michael Ogunlade – The Encounter

Best TV Show – Funke Akindele – Jenifa’s Diary

Award for Best Writer (Movie/TV Series) goes to the writers of VAYA

Best Supporting Actress – Ebele Okaro Onyuike – Four One Love

Best Supporting Actor – Rotimi Salami – Just Got Married

Best Actress Comedy (Movie/TV Series) – Funke Akindele – Jenifa’s Diary

Best Actor Comedy (Movie/TV Series) – Ime Bishop Umoh – The Boss is Mine

Trailblazer Award – Somkele Iyamah – Idhalama

Industry Merit Award – Chika Okpala aka – Chief Zebrudaya

Best Movie East Africa – Sarika Hemi Lakhani – Kati Kati

Best Movie West Africa – Rogers Ofime – Oloibiri

Best Movie Southern Africa – Elvis Chuks – All About Love

Best Actress (Drama/Movie/TV Series) – Rita Dominic – ’76

Best Actor (Drama/Movie/TV Series) – Sambasa Nzeribe – Slow Country

Best Director – Izu Ojukwu – ’76

Best Movie – ’76