Nairobi News

SportsWhat's Hot

Gor Mahia extend league lead

On Song Gor Mahia stretched their lead at the summit of the Kenyan Premier League table to 33 points, nine clear of closest challengers Sofapaka, with a 1-0 win over a stubborn Muhoroni Youth at Kisumu County Stadium on Sunday.

Lanky striker Michael Olunga returned accounted for the solitary strike, his seventh of the campaign that confirmed the three points in a contest that K’Ogalo dominated.

At the Ruaraka Sports Club in Nairobi, Tusker’s campaign was left in tatters after they failed to win their third match on in a row, losing 2-1 to Sofapaka while a stone throw away at the Safaricom Kasarani Stadium, Ushuru held their nerves to overpower KCB 2-1.

In Nakuru, basement side Nakuru All Stars showed determination rallying from two goals down to force a dramatic 2-2 draw with Chemelil Sugar.


Veteran goal poacher John Baraza, who turns 38 on June 3, scored the match opener at Ruaraka for his sixth goal this term. But Tusker responded with a goal from Ghanaian forward Stephen Owusu who came off the bench to level matters.

Deep lying midfielder Maurice Odipo, playing in unfamiliar left back position, nodded home the winner eight minutes to time to enable Batoto Ba Mungu to move to 24 points on the log.

In Nakuru,Chemelil opened  their account in the 10th minute when Meshack Karani soared high to head in past goalkeeper Shayne Indimuli. Karani then made it a double two minutes later capitalizing on a mistake by Teddy Siwa to plant the ball home.

But Stars clawed their way back into the match through David Seda and Ongoro.

At Kasarani, Ushuru came from behind to beat visiting KCB 2-1 thanks to a Moses Arita’s brace. The bankers went ahead when midfielder Chrispinus Odhiambo capitalized on goalkeeper Ali Kimera’s blunder in the 31st minute to net his first premier league goal this season while in Mombasa, Bandari and Mathare fought to a drub barren draw.

KPL Results:

Muhoroni Youth 0 Gor Mahia 1

Tusker 1 Sofapaka 2

All Stars 2 Chemelil Sugar 2

Ushuru 2 KCB 1

Bandari 0 Mathare United 0