Nairobi News

NewsWhat's Hot

10 Candidates who may have miscalculated

As the election results continue to stream in, it appears there are candidates who miscalculated in their quest for certain elective positions.

Some senators across the country opted to vie for gubernatorial seats and some are trailing in the results received so far.

Here is a list of some of the politicians whose political careers are at stake:

1. Hassan Omar

The Mombasa senator was seeking to oust Governor Hassan Joho. Not even discussions on the need for them to work together as members of the opposition coalition worked but in the results transmitted so far, Omar is trailing behind the incumbent and Jubilee candidate Suleiman Shahbal.

2. Boni Kwalwale

The outspoken Kakamega senator has not only lost his senatorial seat but also the governorship of the western county. His plans to take over from the incumbent Wycliffe Oparanya appear bleak as he was trailing in the results transmitted.

3. David Musila

The Kitui Senator started by decamping from Wiper Democratic Party where he was the chairman after losing to the incumbent governor Julius Malombe in the nominations. Musila has now lost to Narc’s Charity Ngilu who will be among Kenyan’s first female governors.

4. Peter Kenneth

PK defied all pleas by Mike Sonko to join him and ensure victory over Governor Evans Kidero. Kenneth lost in the nominations and opted to vie as an independent candidate in the end losing to both Sonko and Kidero to come third in the race.

5. Kinoti Gatobu

The Buuri constituency MP made a leap of faith and vied for the highest office in the county. His efforts to oust Governor Peter Munya and challenge Jubilee’s Kiraitu Murungi saw him come second last in the race.

6. Karungo Thangwa

The former journalist declined a job offer from Ferdinard Waititu who had won the Jubilee party nominations and opted to pursue a senatorial position as an independent candidate. In the election results, Thangwa is trailing the incumbent senator Kimani Wamatangi by a wide margin.

7. Joe Mutambu

The Mwingi Central MP was among the legislators who defected from Wiper to Jubilee in Ukambani. The legislator has now lost his seat to former PS Gedion Mulyungi.

8. Ababu Namwamba

His defection from ODM Party and throwing his weight behind President Uhuru Kenyatta appears to have cost him his parliamentary seat in Budalangi to ODM’s Raphael Wanjala.

9. Oyugi Magwanga

The Kasipul Kabondo MP decided to challenge Governor Cyprian Awiti as an independent candidate but his efforts have flopped.

10. John Mututho

Despite losing in the Jubilee party nominations, the former MP and former Chairman of Nacada has lost to not only Lee Kinyanjui but also CCM’s Peter Koros.